Educate Yourself On Foraging

Home Forums Survival skills and Prepping Educate Yourself On Foraging

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Tony Koretz 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Desiree Munn
    Participant

Has anyone broached the topic yet of foraging? I have been an amateur forager for the past eight or so years, picking up information where I can and practicing my classification abilities.

Other than knowing first priority where a water source is located or how to obtain drinking water, it’s equally crucial to be aware of those wild plants that can be used for food and medicine. If you run out of your stock-pile food/MRE’s/etc…or find yourself in a situation where there is no access to food, it is very important to be aware of any possible food source. Not everyone has a gun/bow/fishing rod who can hunt/fish at their leisure. Meat is not the only sustenance and you will only get so far, not to mention the time and mess involved in hunting, field-dressing, hauling a carcass, butchering, cooking, etc….though if you are able to hunt/fish, but all means do so and praise Jesus for His blessings!

Even if you live in a suburban neighborhood or an apartment complex, chances are there is possibly even a weed that grows in even the tiniest patch of grass that is edible – that you can gather, cook, and eat until you can reach a rural setting. By educating and familiarizing yourself with edible wild plants/weeds/etc… you will at least be that much more secure in your survival, not to mention the benefits of discovering plants that have tremendous medicinal value, in the case that you don’t have access to medical care.